Test IT


SachinInterested to explore career in IT Testing? Today we bring to you first interview with Sachin K, ex-employee of Yahoo! and Microsoft who has over 10 years of work experience under our unique section ‘Test it’! His first book with unique title ‘Bug‘ is set to release in July/August 2016.

For more information keep a tab at this page (https://www.facebook.com/Without.interview). You may feel free to post your question to in message box or comment and the interviewee would answer over next few days from 26 Dec 2014 till 03 Jan 2015. We wish you a great career ahead!

Bio of Sachin: He has over 10+ years of experience in Software Testing. He has worked mainly in the Web Domains with the wide range of applications spanning Ad Systems, Job Sites, Search, Locals etc. He is passionate to explore new things and for him the innovation is fixing small things that make the work more effective.

Sachin, welcome to ‘Test IT’ section –

Author: Tell us about your background and education.

Sachin: I completed all my Education from Bagalkot, District a place in North Karnataka. I passed out from Basaveshwara Engineering College, Bagalkot in Year 2003.

Author: How did you land in an IT job?

Sachin: I came to Bangalore in 2004 mid. I didn’t get through GATE Exam which I had prepared for 6 months. Expectations were high and I had to prove a point to myself than to others. There was no particular area I was looking for to start with. I wanted to get  a job so that I can make a living in the Garden City. I had all the support from my parents both in terms of motivation and taking care of my daily needs. I landed in GTRE (DRDO group) through a consultancy and was doing Calibration of Machines. After a month or so I joined Affinity Software through a referral which I could call as my first entry in the Software Industry.

Author: It’s relevant that you are working in Testing Domain. How is your overall years of experience?. 

Sachin: It has been a decade-long journey in software testing but the opportunities to learn and prove never seizes. I have worked on a lot of applications, testing types, used many testing techniques at different stages of my career. For first 3-4 years I was very raw as any IT newbie, so I used to contribute to many projects, filed lot of bugs and of course stand for them and get it fixed (smiles). Later in the quest of learning new things such as Test Automation which I have been continued to learn over a period of time. I have also done Performance testing of Large Scale Applications which dealt with Data in Billions of units.

(Thinks) In all these, I have learnt a way to ensure quality of the product is very good and I collaborate well with other team members and cross core teams. Sense of ownership and passionate to do more is what keeps me going in this area.

Author: Why did you choose to work in a testing role as developer role is expected to be an aspired role?

Sachin: Yes testing role versus developer is an interesting choice but a preferred one for me over the last 10+ years. I would say it was a Mix of People who I met during my First Software Job and tendency of me being a person who likes to think more of quality and then asking others to check quality of my work. I think once I started learning testing basics, I found it interesting. Amount of Scope and Ownership which testing brings in amazes me. Also, people around me who had done great things as testers also inspired me to be a tester.

Author: What are your hobbies?

Sachin: Hobbies – Sharing interesting bits about work to Friends, Social Networking, Youtubing for some fun series and of course Cricket (smiles).

Author: What is your daily routine?
Sachin: From being very task specific I have become process specific over the last few years. So my daily routine revolves around solving problems smartly and finding long term solutions. Otherwise, I would spend some time with my daughter and also watch a bit of news on my favourite show at Times Now, Primetime (smiles).

 

Author: How did you find ‘Get a Job WITHOUT an Interview’ book helpful to aspiring software engineers and IT professionals?

Sachin: Book is helpful in following ways:
1. Gives specific details on how to prepare for interviews.
2. What to expect in interviews and how to approach when u get a call from big tech companies.

Author: Thank you Sachin for your valuable time and inspiring our aspiring engineer’s to become a test engineer’s. 

Sachin: Thanks (smiles)

Readers – aspiring software test engineer’s and IT professionals are free to leave your message for Sachin to answer on or before 03 Jan, 2015. We hope you are enjoying this section, feel free to leave your message for us to improve. Next week we shall bring to you another personality who is a Mechanical Engineering, worked with several companies such as L&T, Sun Microsystem, and Yahoo! to mention. He is presently a founding member and CEO of a start-up. We wish you a great new year 2015. Till then ‘Test IT’!  

(c) Amrita Foundation

6 thoughts on “Test IT

  1. Pingback: Entrepreneur & Beyond! | Amrita Foundation for HRD

Leave a Reply

