Personality Theory: Kohlberg’s Moral Development Theory

(Stages of Development)
Kohlberg’s breaks the development of morality into three levels –
Perconventional level (up to age nine)
In this level, morality is defined as obeying rules and avoid negative consequences. Typically these rules are set by parents, as defining moral law. The one who satisfies the child’s needs is seen as good and moral by parents and others.
Conventional level (age nine to adolescence) 
In this level, parents expectation is being understood by children. Morality is seen as achieving these expectations. Following expectations and fulfilling those expectations are seen as moral law for children.
Postconventional level (adulthood)
In this level, one begins to understand that people in society have different opinions about morality and rules and laws vary from group to group and culture to culture. Morality signify in terms of upholding the values of the group or culture. The person would compare own beliefs to judge himself and others based upon higher of morality.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s