Late Lateef


I had newly joined a college after much of hardship that was several furlong away from my adobe. To my bad luck, I often reached ten (or more) minutes late to the campus. Late is perhaps a negative word that invites punishment. Firstly I had to answer to the principal who wasn’t in a position to listen. He only knew to yell and asked me not to show my face again. Did he stop seeing me next day? Never! This delayed to attend first period and often the door remained closed to indicate ‘not allowed’. This pattern got a prefix to my name ‘Late’ Lateef. I wasn’t late by choice but poverty, walk (unable to afford transport), and aging parents are few factors to being late. I wish learning place could understand that the intent is important than a pattern. The pattern was of major concern because everybody in hierarchy had agreed to it without asking ‘why’.

This pattern cost me separation, antagonism, exploitation and so on. Earlier I believed that place of learning create a new free individual. Is it really doing it?

Leave a Reply

